MT180 – My Thesis in 180 seconds

Yamin Sepehri présente sa thèse lors de la 7ème édition de la finale EPFL du concours MT180 © Alain Herzog, EPFL 2023

What is it ?

My Thesis in 180 Secondes, inspired by Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) which took place for the first time in 2008 at the University of Queensland in Australia, is a competittion that gives doctoral students the opportunity to present their research topic in simple terms to a general and diverse audience. In three minutes each participant must deliver a clear, concise and yet compelling explanation of his or her research topic.

The competition gives participants an opportunity to hone their communication skills, while shwocasing their research in a public space. The presentations are filmed and those of the finals broadcast on the Internet.

Watch or rewatch last Edition

Information for candidates

A multi-stage Competition

Participating universities in Switzerland (EPFL, UNIFR, UNIGE, UNIL, UNINE, UZH) organize their own internal competition. Winners from each institution can compete in the national final coordinated by the Conférence universitaire de Suisse occidentale. 

The winner of this national final is then selected to represent Switzerland during the international competition which brings together around twenty competitors from different countries.

At EPFL around forty doctoral students participate earch year in the competition and selections take place before the EPFL final. At EPFL the selections and the final take place in French and in English and are open to the public.

Organisation

My Thesis in 180 Seconds is organised at EPFL by the Science Outreach Department with support from the Doctoral School and Learning & Development, and in collaboration with Mediacom, the Audiovisual Service, Keep Learning and the Research Office.

Contact

EPFL Science Outreach Departement
Phone: +41 21 693 00 72
E-mail: mt180@epfl.ch

MT180 – Ma thèse en 180 secondes

Yamin Sepehri présente sa thèse lors de la 7ème édition de la finale EPFL du concours MT180 © Alain Herzog, EPFL 2023

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le concours Ma thèse en 180 secondes, inspiré du concours Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) qui a eu lieu pour la première fois en 2008 à l’Université de Queensland en Australie, permet à des doctorantes et doctorants présenter leur sujet de recherche en termes simples à un auditoire profane et diversifié. Chaque candidat·e doit présenter, en trois minutes, un exposé clair, concis et néanmoins convaincant de son projet de recherche.

Le concours offre une occasion aux participant·e·s de parfaire leurs aptitudes en communication, tout en leur donnant la possibilité de diffuser leur recherche dans l’espace public. Les présentations sont filmées et celles des des finales sont diffusées sur Internet.

voir ou revoir la dernière édition

Informations pour les candidat·e·s

Un concours en plusieurs étapes

En Suisse, les hautes écoles universitaires participantes (EPFL, UNIFR, UNIGE, UNIL, UNINE, UZH) organisent leur propre compétition interne. Les lauréat·e·s de chaque établissement participent à la finale nationale du concours coordonnée par la Conférence universitaire de Suisse occidentale. 

Le ou la gagnant·e de cette finale suisse est ensuite sélectionné·e pour représenter son pays lors de la finale internationale du concours qui réunit une vingtaine de concurrent·e·s issu·e·s de différents pays.

A l’EPFL, une quarantaine de doctorantes et de doctorants participent chaque année au concours et des sélections internes, ouvertes au public, ont lieu avant la finale EPFL. A l’EPFL, les sélections et la finale se déroulent en français et en anglais.

20 juin à l’UNIFR, avec Alexandros Anastasiadis, Stella Laperrousaz et Dorsan Lepour

21 novembre 2024 à Abidjan

Organisation

Le concours Ma thèse en 180 secondes est organisé à l’EPFL par le Service de promotion des sciences sous l’égide de l’École Doctorale et en collaboration avec Mediacom, le Service audiovisuel, Keep Learning et le Research Office.

Contact

EPFL Service de promotion des sciences
Tél: +41 21 693 00 72
E-mail: mt180@epfl.ch