EPFL Final 2023

EPFL Finalists of the 7th Edition of the "Ma thèse en 180 secondes" Competition

Watch or rewatch the Final of 30 March 2023

EPFL Winners

  1. Eugénie Mas, «Impact of tree species interactions on tree water relations under warmer and drier  climate», Labo écologie végétale ( Charlotte Grossiord), Français
  2. Armand Kurum, «Cancer biomechanics in immunotherapy», Biomaterials for Immunoengineering Lab (Prof. Li Tang), English
  3. Gaétan Raynaud, «Characterization and control of slender flexible structures interacting with flows», Labo de diagnostic des écoulements instationnaires ( Karen Mulleners), Français
  4. Lucie Chanvillard, «Balancing NAD+ Metabolism and Senescence in Chronic Kidney Disease», Institute of Health Sciences, Nestlé Research ( Jerome Feige), Français
  5. Anna McCann, « Finding information-rich electrocardiographic biomarkers to characterize atrial fibrillation», Labo traitement des signaux 2 (Dr Jean-Marc Vesin), Français
  6. Yamin Sepehri, «Smart Edge in Hierarchical Vision Systems», Signal Processing Lab 4 and CSEM (Prof. Pascal Frossard and Dr Andrea Dunbar), English
  7. Outman Akouissi, «Advanced peripheral nerve interfaces», Chaire Fondation Bertarelli en neuro-ingénierie translationnelle (Prof. Silvestro Micera et Stéphanie Lacour), Français
  8. Dorian Herle, “NEMS optomechanical switches for reflective display applications”, Advanced Nano-electromechanical Systems Lab (Prof. Guillermo Villanueva), English – Absent le jour de la finale
  9. Doris Di Natale, «Physics-inspired Deep Learning for Building Modeling and Control», Automatic Control Lab 3 (Prof. Colin Neil Jones), English
  10. Chuen-Ru Li, «Selectively permeable microcapsules», Soft Materials Lab (Prof. Esther Amstad), English
  11. Anita Bodac, «Targeting innate immunity aging to fight lung cancer», Labo Approches moléculaires du vivant & ISREC (Prof. Etienne Meylan & Freddy Radtke), Français
  12. Nils Kalbfuss, «Dissecting centriole fate during elegans development», Cell and Developmental Biology Lab (Prof. Pierre Gönczy), English
  13. Eva Baur, «Granular elastomers for 3D printing applications», Labo de la matière molle (Prof. Esther Amstad), Français
  14. Sara Behjati, «Designing DNA wrapped single-walled carbon nanotube optical biosensors for cancer biomarker detection», Nanobiotechnology Lab ( Ardemis Boghossian), English
  • Gisou van der Goot, President of the Jury, Professor at the Faculty SV and Vice President for Responsible Transformation at EPFL
  • Ambrogio Fasoli, Jury Member, Professor at the Faculty SB and Associate Vice President for Research at EPFL
  • Marilyne Andersen, Jury Member, Professor at the Faculty ENAC and President of the Committee EPFL Fribourg
  • Mauro Lattuada, Jury Member, Technology Transfer Manager à l’EPFL
  • Jelena Kovacevic, Jury Member, Responsible for the foundation Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CVCI)
  • Bastien Confino, Jury Member, Scientific Journalist RTS


Swiss Final

Gaétan Raynaud (34:32), Anita Bodac (1:17:34) and Eva Baur (1:25:53) were at the Swiss Final of the Competition “Ma thèse en 180 secondes” that took place on 29 June 2023 at UNIL.